2016 3* RB Jalin Buie

EagleDamnWar

Grave must have read my mind with his reply. Well done. That is almost word for word the way I would have responded.

5'8" may be on the program but I'm not buying it. I didn't say he wouldn't be effective in our O. I said I thought he would be a better fit in Oregon's. I'm glad to have the young man.

• Replies 65
  • Created
  • Last Reply

If/when he grows 2 inches and gains 20 pounds he will likely be considered more than a scat back. Normally high school stats throw an extra 10 pounds and an inch on players so I'm assuming he is actually a bit smaller than what is listed. Never met the kid so this is only an assumption.

It is true that a player cannot be defined by his measurables. Tre proved this. But I think we'd all agree that Tre was special. This kid may be too, but as a sophomore I don't think that judgement can be made. I'd also say that as a sophomore you probably can't say what type of RB he will turn out to be.

I agree that whatever type of RB he turned out to be Gus would use him in a way that would best compliment his skills.

I was simply stating that a sub 5'10" sub 200 pound RB would be better suited to Oregons offense than ours. Which I think most would agree with right?

I honestly think that we will see us take a guy like this every year. 2014 - Truitt, 2015 - IYAM, Trayvon Samuel @ Central HS Phenix City, AL, 2016 - Buie. Certainly not all of them are going to be the next O'Mac/Grant/Mason. But if just 1/2 of them pan out you have a two deep weapon with speed and elusivness, in a player that can be hard to spot when the QB has good ball skills and with the matchups we create. When a defender is fighting a blocker and the back gets behind some big OL guys, they can get past you before you even see them.

• 4 months later...
  • 8 months later...