Sammie Coates will declare for NFL Draft.

auburn4ever

B47fI8FCYAAGQql.jpg

Auburn WR Sammie Coates will declare for the NFL Draft, per @JHokanson. Mel Kiper Jr. feels Coates is likely a 2nd-round pick.

@JamesCrepea

Sammie Coates plans to accept an invite to the Senior Bowl, early graduation makes him eligible

@JHokanson

Sammie Coates is at the podium: "I decided to come out this year and enter the NFL Draft." It's official.

Sammie Coates: "I think it's time for me to take the next step in my life. … This is the biggest decision I've ever had to make in my life."

Coates points to the fact that he graduated as a major reason for going pro: "I got a diploma, that's what you come to college for."

Coates: "It was a moment where you looked at it and (knew) it was that time (to turn pro)."

Malzahn confirms Auburn will cover Sammie Coates' loss-of-value insurance for the Outback Bowl. He's a low-1st, early-2nd round prospect.

Malzahn on Coates' draft projections: "We really don't need projections, he's one of the best receivers in college football right now."

@AUBlog

Coates: "If I wouldn't have graduated (Saturday), it wouldn't have even been a thought (to leave early)."

@wareagleextra

Coates said he hasn't seen his draft evaluation or looked at any projections this year. He said he didn't want it to affect his season.

What do you tell NFL coaches and scouts about what kind of player Sammie Coates is, Gus Malzahn? "Turn the film on."

Malzahn on Coates: "He's got a bright future, and we're proud of him. And we've got him for one more game."

@JFergusonAU

Malzahn's forecast on Sammie Coates: "He's going to be a high draft pick."

@jzenor

B47kP5qCMAA1iqA.jpg

via @AlbertCesare

• Replies 186
  • Created
  • Last Reply

He should! This guy looks the part but he needs to improve his hands. He has dropped almost as many as he has caught. I think another year will do him good.