JUCO PF Alex Hicks chooses AU!

RunInRed

Bruce Pearl added another piece to the puzzle on Monday.

Alex Hicks, a 6-foot-8 power forward from Walters State Community College in Tennessee, verbally committed to Auburn, according to multiple reports. He visited the school's campus this past weekend.

"It's a great university, they have a great program, good coaching staff and it's my dream school since I started playing basketball," Hicks told JucoReport.com. "Most of all, it's home."

Hicks averaged 15.1 points and 7.6 rebounds per game last season. The Seale, Ala. native played his high school basketball at Glenwood High School. Hicks will have three years of eligibility remaining once he arrives on campus.

Hicks joins an Auburn recruiting class that is currently ranked No. 16 in the country, according to 247Composite. Other members of the class are Horace Spencer, Danjel Purifoy, T.J. Dunans, New Williams and Bryce Brown.

http://www.al.com/sp...college_po.html

CDDdDItW0AAnqaj.jpg

Did not seem to be too much in demand after HS nor after his first season in JUCO....but nice to get some depth. Hope he is willing to stay around and develop over the next few years.

Not being critical of this kid because I expect he will do his best....but I would have preferred that we still had Atewe since he had experience with the team. I really worry that will will be picking up guys like Hicks to fill an immediate opening with no intent that he will make a "difference' in the team.

Unless everyone in the world except BP has missed on this guy, he is likely to be a minor role player for a year until BP finds someone better to take his place.

It's hard to project who will be starting this season and even harder to figure out who will be on the roster for the 2016 season. This one and done business...whether it involves 5* players or 2* players drives me nuts.