North Georgia - 4:30 p.m.

Saturday, Oct. 17

Chipola College - 2 p.m.

Chipola College - 4:30 p.m.

Saturday, Oct. 24

Valdosta State - 1 p.m.

Valdosta State - 3:30 p.m.

Friday, Oct. 30

Columbus State vs. NW Florida State - 2:30 p.m.

Auburn vs. NW Florida State - 4:45 p.m.

Auburn vs. Columbus State - 6:30 p.m.

• 2 weeks later...

I'm new to this softball thing- what is fall softball? Practice season?

Basically, that is correct. Although most teams have a year round work out schedule including working with other players. No on the field coaches are allowed at these, usually just a trainer observing. Normally, as listed, they play smaller D2, D3 or JC schools at home. Some coaches will also use the games to see other players with the potential to maybe transfer but this does not happen very often except an occasional JC player. The rules have changed some since I was involved in college softball but I think they are given like 20 days of practice and/or games in the fall but they have to take at least one day off per week.

• 2 months later...

I got hooked on the lady Tigers last year. I can't wait until women's softball starts up again last years team was so awesome to watch.

• 3 weeks later...

I don't see that the 2016 schedule has been posted on the AU athletics site. Last year they began some "Invitational" and "Tournament" games in early February. The SEC schedule started the second week of March. They are fun to watch. So fortunate to have Coach Myers. During the Chipola game, the freshman, Bree Fornis was up to bat. Coach called her over for a talk and put his arm around her shoulder. She responded in such a natural way and put her arm around his back....looked like a grand father and grand daughter having a talk. Sort of touching. You could sense the respect she had for him.