The Ref Bowl

AUFlyer99

I've referred to last year as the Iron Blow. I've only seen one clip from this years game since I'm stuck south of the border, but what I saw sealed a turd win in my opinion and at the same time compromised the integrity of the SEC on a national stage. Looks to me like our boys played in the ref bowl yesterday.

ESPN down here only shows boxing and soccer. Was that series of events on any of the highlight shows back home?

I agree. I have been attending Auburn-Alabama games for the past 45 years and I have seen my share of bad calls and no calls that always seem to favor Alabama. I was in the stands in Birmingham looking down on the pass to Thom Gossom that went for a touchdown and put Auburn ahead in that game with less than 4 minutes remaining. The ball was placed down at the 3 yard line awaiting the extra point while the refs huddled to figure out how they could reverse Auburn's touchdown. One of the refs working the chains motioned to a ref in the middle of the field to come to the sideline where he told him that Gossom had stepped out of bounds. In fact Gossom was pushed out of bounds by Alabama's cornerback, Washington, while the ball was in the air. But never mind that pass interference should have been called. The refs determined that the penalty should be illegal receiver downfield against Auburn which resulted in a 10 yard penalty and loss of down. Never mind that the guys working the chains have no official capacity as refs and the pass interference was not called. I have seen too many times when the refs inserted themselves into this game to ensure that Alabama won.