I'll try to keep it simple to this scenario, because going into the "rule talk" may create confusion. Note, ALL starters (any position, DP & Flex) are allowed 1 re-entry into the game. CMD left Handley in the Flex spot, entered Swindle into the DP (for Maresette). Then, he put the DP into defense (in this case P). The Flex stays intact (and doesn't have to be on field), so Handley is still available. Now, if he would have put Handley (Flex) into P, then Swindle goes back to DP (or off defense). As long as Swindle stays in to hit (when the DP comes up in the batting order), she is eligible to go back on defense (or P). That is how Swindle stays available to pitch again, even though not a starter. This scenario never played out in the game. Now, in the bottom of the 7th when Maresette made her 1 re-entry back in batting order in DP spot, Swindle was burned and could not have come back in. I hope this makes some sense.