Biggest "insider miss" in recruiting history?

aushrink

I am relatively new to the message board and I have noticed that the insiders are very confident in RE coming to Auburn.

It got me thinking that which recruit in the past was a last minute switch when the coaches and insiders were as convinced (as you can be with 18 year old kids) he was gonna be in orange and blue?

Thanks!

• Replies 324
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I am relatively new to the message board and I have noticed that the insiders are very confident in RE coming to Auburn.

It got me thinking that which recruit in the past was a last minute switch when the coaches and insiders were as convinced (as you can be with 18 year old kids) he was gonna be in orange and blue?

Thanks!

Yeldon without a doubt. But in that situation, everyone was lied to coaches included. Other than that, the track record has been pretty good.

Yeldon wasn't as much of a miss as a coaching staff change collateral damage. It was more a recruit having a hard time cutting ties and people not wanting to believe it would happen.

Ray Drew and Leonard Williams were huge misses. Leonard Williams only gets mentioned because he was essentially an early silent. His entire family had told people that he would be going to Auburn. Last minute OV to USC changed his mind

Yeldon wasn't as much of a miss as a coaching staff change collateral damage. It was more a recruit having a hard time cutting ties and people not wanting to believe it would happen.

Ray Drew and Leonard Williams were huge misses. Leonard Williams only gets mentioned because he was essentially an early silent. His entire family had told people that he would be going to Auburn. Last minute OV to USC changed his mind

There was no coaching change surrounding Yeldon. Are you thinking of Foster perhaps?

There was no coaching change surrounding Yeldon. Are you thinking of Foster perhaps?