Questions about current recruiting

AURex

Just wondering -- and this is questions not criticism, because I am no expert on recruiting --

Why is Auburn accepting commitments from so many 3 star athletes so early in the recruiting period, when so many much higher regarded athletes are as yet uncommitted? Is it because the coaches feel these guys are seriously underrated? Is it because the coaches are okay with settling for lower regarded athletes, figuring they can be coached up? Are the coaches pessimistic about their ability to land top prospects? Is it because there just aren't very many top prospects out there in positions of desperate need?

I'm also curious whether it ius typical for Auburn to accept so many 3 star recruits this early in the recruiting period. It does seem that, compared to some of our rivals, Auburn doesn't have so many highly regarded recruits. But I'm not sure this is a concern.

I'm just looking for some insight from those of you who know much more about this aspect of Auburn football than I do. Because frankly, I find it confusing.

Thanks for sharing your knowledge!

It's because Auburn's coaching staff does their own evaluations and doesn't care what their rating is on a recruiting service.

Many of our early offers to lower rated guys have began to blow up.  Our staff does a really good job at finding guys that havent blown up. They typically do though through the cycle

It's a great question and my answer is that this staff does an above average job on evaluations. I say that because we offer a fair amount of otherwise unheralded recruits who suddenly blow up into highly rated kids later in the process.  I feel a special mojo in recruiting this year and expect to close strong!