Note on statistical report cards

StatTiger

From 2013-2014, Auburn had a passing grade on offense during 75 percent of their games and 49 percent on defense.

From 2015-2017, it is 50 percent on offense and 64% on defense.

From 2016-2017, it is 53 percent on offense and 73 percent on defense. (Almost a complete flip from 2013-2014)

The manner the grading system is structured, there are 15 categories for offense and defense each and 7 on special teams. This is a combined 37 categories to pass or fail. I have been doing this feature since 2009 and found the following...

When Auburn has a combined (off, def & special) percentage of at least 60 percent, the Tigers are 46-0.
When the Tigers dip below 40 percent in all three units combined, Auburn is 0-23.

Auburn is 63-9 during games they have a passing grade in at least 2 of the 3 phases of the team.

I have graded out 107 games from 2009-2017. The best combined score came against Arkansas in 2016, when the Tigers had a 33 of 35 score or 94.3 percent. The worst grade came against Alabama in 2012 with a combined 3 of 33 score (9.1 percent).

Top-5 team performances against Power-5 competition with a winning record:

Arkansas 2016 (33 of 35)
LSU 2014 (32 of 37)
TAMU 2015 (29 of 37)
South Carolina SECCG 2010 (27 of 35)
Arkansas 2014 (29 of 37)

Bottom-5 team performances against Power-5 competition with a winning record:

Alabama 2012 (3 of 33)
Georgia 2011 (4 of 34)
Georgia 2012 (4 of 33)
LSU 2011 (5 of 35)
Alabama 2011 (6 of 34)

ICYMI: Clemson Game Report Card

• Like 2
  • Thanks 1
  • Angry 1

Interesting to know, appreciate you sharing your efforts with the rest of us Stat.

5 minutes ago, StatTiger said:
I have graded out 107 games from 2009-2017. The best combined score came against Arkansas in 2016, when the Tigers had a 33 of 35 score or 94.3 percent. The worst grade came against Alabama in 2012 with a combined 3 of 33 score (9.1 percent).