Phil’s moving ball putt

tigerbrotha12

I’m no golf expert; I rarely pay attention to it or play it, so my thoughts are probably not worth much.

I thought he intentionally cheated the game while knowing tbe punishment was less severe than continuing to let the greens make a fool out of himself. If he knew the punishment, and was willing to accept it, I have no deeper problems with what he did. It’s up to the USGA to decide if they want to add additional punishment to make the likelihood of it happening again less likely. 

Phil was being a prick imo he let it get to him and he was trying to show up the USGA. He knew what the penalty for hitting a moving ball was. Every good player knows that especially when putting.

7 minutes ago, augolf1716 said:

Phil was being a prick imo he let it get to him and he was trying to show up the USGA. He knew what the penalty for hitting a moving ball was. Every good player knows that especially when putting.

yep....and the next putt was another "show 'em' play too.  Deliberately hit an uphill birdie putt well past the cup ...maybe 6 or 8 feet up the hill to let it roll back down toward the hole......an obvious trick shot IMO but no real violation in that case....ball missed the cup coming back down and Phil made his par. 

17 minutes ago, Mike4AU said:

He should have been disqualified from the tournament. 

As bad as his score was, and with his actions on the course, I don’t think he would have cared if got DQed from the tournament. Maybe DQ him for the next major? Either way, the punishment wasn’t severe enough. 

5 hours ago, Mike4AU said:

No idea what the rule is because golf is full of jacked up rules.  Whatever the rule was, enforce it and get over the butthurt.  If he circumvented the letter of the law, then change the rules to deal with it in the future.

11 minutes ago, oracle79 said: