Baseball- My thoughts from the weekend

***Want to preface this by saying I am not a coach and do not pretend to be an expert, but I’ve got a few years of experience with Baseball Analytics and moneyball techniques. I’ve studied baseball for a while and just wanted to give a few thoughts.***

It’s that glorious time of year again- Baseball is back, Men’s Basketball is closing in on a repeat NCAA tournament appearance and Women’s is trying to return to the tournament as well. Softball is underway, gymnastics is taking names, equestrian is still number 1... so many Auburn sports going on, as my favorite is back. Baseball. I absolutely love this time of year. It is one of my favorite things to do to head over to the ballpark after a long day during the week and decompress while I take in some diamond ball. I, being lucky enough to live in the area, got to attend at least a few innings of each game this weekend. 

There was some good and some bad, but ultimately we’ve opened the season with a series win over what will likely be a team to compete for the title in the Sun Belt this season. Let’s start with Friday: 

Well played game. The Tigers put GSU out of it pretty early by batting around in the first inning of the season, and putting up a 5 spot. Davis Daniel got off to a bit of a rocky start allowing two runs in the first three innings he threw, but the bullpen pitched a whale of a game completely shutting down the GSU offense, especially Elliot Anderson. The Auburn offense tacked on a few more to end the game and Auburn picked up the win 11-2. The highlight of the night was probably Ryan Bliss’s triple I believe in the fourth. Just watch the guy run, he’s got elite SEC speed and that will be huge for us this season. No long balls in this game, as I expected someone to do it, but it was a cool night and the balls just were not carrying. Overall, great opening day.