HOSPITAL RESPONDS TO NURSE SEEN AT CROWDED WISCONSIN BAR AFTER STATE'S STAY-AT-HOME ORDER WAS LIFTED

Auburn85

https://www.newsweek.com/hospital-responds-nurse-seen-crowded-wisconsin-bar-after-states-stay-home-order-was-lifted-1504522

Amid the ongoing novel coronavirus outbreak, a nurse was seen at a crowded bar Thursday in Wisconsin, where lockdown measures were lifted after the state's Supreme Court overturned Wisconsin Gov. Tony Evers' extension of the stay-at-home orderon Wednesday.

Katie Koutsky was identified to be an employee of Advocate Aurora Health, a Illinois-based health care system with offices in Wisconsin, after she was interviewed by a news crew from Chicago's WTMJ-TV station covering a story at the bar, Chicago's WGN reports.

Koutsky was seen among the many patrons at the packed Limanski's Pub in West Allis, a suburb of Milwaukee, who were seen without a face mask.

"I have a toddler at home and I'm a full-time nurse. It's been very stressful and hard to go out and be with my friends and family at the bars," she told the news crew.

When asked whether she was concerned about the crowds, she told the news crew: "I don't think the risk presents any higher than going to a grocery store."

On Friday, Koutsky issued a statement in which she expressed regret for her actions.

"The intense media scrutiny I have received over these last two days regarding my decision Wednesday evening to go to my sister's bar to help her with the opening," she said.

"First, while my priority was to support my sister and her attempt to restart her business which has been devastated by this pandemic, I'd like to express my regret for not wearing a mask or practicing social distancing while there. It was a lapse in judgment on my part to not ensure I had my mask prior to leaving my house and to not maintain social distancing—even during the interview requested by the reporter," Koutsky continued.