Open Club  ·  57 members

BBQ Boys

Any tips for a guy that just got his first dedicated smoker?

AUDub

I've smoked in the past on my Weber grill but my wife got me an electric smoker for my birthday. First dedicated smoker I've ever owned. 

gJMuuGo.jpg

eTxtlAB.jpg

Already seasoned it. Figure I'm going to go get me a few butts to get a feel for it before I move on to more advanced stuff. 

Assume I'm a complete novice. Any tips?

• 4 weeks later...

As I understand it, this is Cuisinart Electric Smoker. I have a smoker and a grill, but I haven't cooked anything on it for a long time.

What tips to give a newbie? Cook more, read more literature, watch various videos. I went through this, because none of my acquaintances really knows how to cook on a grill or in a smoker. So I bought meat every weekend and learned to cook. And now through the time the interest has disappeared.

Here is some literature for you to study:

https://smokingmeatgeeks.com/smoking-meat-basics/ (SMOKING MEAT 101 – HOW TO BBQ & TYPES OF SMOKERS)

• Like 1

Well we're going to get it going today. Got a butt ready to go. 

On 10/24/2021 at 10:45 AM, DavidJo23 said:

I found this video in my research and hell yeah it's a good lesson on not being rigid. 

Going a bit too smoothly. Wonder how badly I mess it up when I hit the stall lol. 

• Like 1

Hit the stall hard. Been parked at 153 for a solid hour. Debating whether to crutch or not, but I gave myself a lot of extra time so no need to be too urgent. 

Can see why electrics are considered easy mode. Temp control on this thing is a damn breeze. 

IRWZREV.jpeg

Had to really crank after overcoming the stall, but it came out great. No complaints. Damn near perfect pulled pork. 

• 2 weeks later...

9lb butt, so tonight will be my first attempt at an overnight smoke. 

iUXUDBm.jpg

• Like 1

Still just shocked at how nice temp control is on this thing.