Philip Montgomery - New OC

TitanTiger

I find this interesting. RGIII was asked a curious question. Earlier in the season, he was asked and responded said that Robby Ashford reminded him most of himself of any player earlier on in his college career.

RGIII: “Griffin shared his thoughts with Connor O’Gara on the Saturday Down South podcast, and it’s a potential up-and-comer in the SEC. He had a quick answer about which quarterback reminds Griffin of himself. ‘Robby Ashford. When I was a freshman, I was like Robby. I wasn’t a 1-read guy, I was a half-read guy. That’s what he is right now,’ Griffin said. ‘He drops back and it’s like he’s out of the pocket. That’s what I was, but I was a very dynamic runner. Robby’s a little bigger and stronger than I was when I came in as a freshman, but I was faster, so I got away with a little bit more when I was a freshman than he is right now.’”

For Ashford to continue his growth as a quarterback, he needs development from the coaching staff. ‘Watching him throw the football, I definitely think he has the potential and if (Bryan) Harsin is the coach or he gets a coach that can really develop him as a passer, like I had with Art Briles and (current Tulsa coach) Phillip Montgomery, then I think he can turn into something extremely special.’”

Who’s our new OC? None other than Philip Montgomery.

RGIII goes on: “We just gotta give these kids time to develop because how I came into college is definitely not how I left college, and maybe college football fans and coaches need to understand that,” Griffin said. “You’ve gotta go in and mold (Ashford). Ashford could turn into a guy like Hendon Hooker at some point in his career if he gets the right coaching.”

Al.com’s link regarding Montgomery: “A claim to fame for Montgomery was his work as a quarterbacks coach at Baylor in 2011 during Robert Griffin’s Heisman Trophy-winning season. Montgomery worked at Baylor from 2008 until 2014 before becoming the Tulsa coach.”