Rules of Basketball

auwallace

Okay, hear me out. I think basketball is an exciting sport that is fun to watch. However it is flawed in a big way. Here's the situation. If a player with the ball is grabbed intentionally during the first 38 minutes of a game the call is an intentional (or worse) foul. If said player is grabbed during the final minutes of the game it is simply a personal foul. A game filled with intricate plays should not be decided by who shoots the best free throws. If it is intentional during the first 38 should it not be intentional during the last few minutes? If i'm wrong and there is a rule for this please let me know.

I'm no expert, but I think they call it a flagrant foul now, so if it is intentional and a hard foul, the call is made for free throws + possession

I'll take a stab at an answer for you from an officials standpoint. From the games I've watched in recent years, rarely is an intentional foul called, unless its in a transition situation and even then it has to be farely "flagrant" to warrant the intentional foul from the officials in this day and age. Unfortunately, you will never see a foul called off the ball that will be called "intentional". I agree with what your saying, cause it sounds to me like you are simply asking for consistency. I have yet to see an intentional foul called all season, but I don't watch as much basketball as I used too, unless Auburn is on. Now, my experience was with high school basketball and the college game is very different. One thing we had in high school, was fouling to stop the clock or "to conserve time" was "according to the rule book" supposed to called an intentional foul. Rarely is it ever called that way because if officials did that, the associations would likely not give them as many (if any) games.