Tide for Toomers / Designs

AU Lover

• Replies 84
  • Created
  • Last Reply

My own judgment about what?

I was just surprised that a self-proclaimed Auburn fan was the one who created the red tree with the script A. Maybe I'm being too sensitive to stuff like that. The tree red tree offends me.

My own judgment about what?

I was just surprised that a self-proclaimed Auburn fan was the one who created the red tree with the script A. Maybe I'm being too sensitive to stuff like that. The tree red tree offends me.

The red tree offends me too.

Hi there. Yes, I'm the "self-proclaimed Auburn fan." I've been a fan since I was a kid...in a UGA household. When I was 5 years old, I wrote on a piece of paper that I wanted to go to Auburn University to be a Design Engineer. I lived the dream, and attended Auburn from 1998-2002. I graduated with a degree in Industrial Design and things came full circle. Since that time, I've been a mentor to young AU design students and represented my University as a leading professional in my field. Now, I'm a dad of a 2 year old little girl who knows that the AU logo is "Auburn", loves Aubie, and says "War Eagle" at the drop of a hat. On Thursday evening, after listening to sports talk in Birmingham all day and watching all the events of the Toomer's incident unfold, I was inspired to create a design that I could share with some friends as my own personal tribute. That design went viral and things went crazy from there. As a good Alum who's heart is right, I decided that all the hype about the designs could be put to good use if used for raising money to preserve our Toomer's tradtion. How amazing would it be to play a role in giving back to my alma mater for such a great cause. And so I contacted the University to show my designs, share my wishes and make sure this was handled properly in regards to licensing and fund raising. I still haven't heard back from them yet, but hope to by tomorrow