When is enough, enough?

RunInRed

When I was a student at AU, a disagreement ended in a fist-fight, at best ...

Nowadays, it's shots fired.

Yet, sadly, we hear more on campus about concealed carry and the 2nd Amendment than we do about Gun Control, Gun-Free Zones, etc.

Thoughts? Solutions to end the violence?

It is mostly attitudinal. You said it yourself. We used to have fist fights. Now people feel disrespected and they pull out a gun or a knife and attack you like that. Gangs have been a prime breeding ground for this behavior. Without a strong father figure to help teach them what a real man is and isn't they just have no real guidance.

People say violent video games and rap lyrics are part of the blame. It might play a role. It certainly doesn't help. You can declare gun free zones all day long but a criminal doesn't care about that. Concealed carry has proven to be a deterrent but by itself it won't cure anything. It just boils down to getting rid of this attitude of if you dis me, I will kill you. That starts at home. Churches can play a role too.

That starts at home. Churches can play a role too.

But when there IS no home , and Churches are all but ignored ...

We have a President and certain " leaders " who are telling young black men to basically ignore the law, fear the peace keepers, and do what ever the hell they want.

And we see the results.

That starts at home. Churches can play a role too.

But when there IS no home , and Churches are all but ignored ...

We have a President and certain " leaders " who are telling young black men to basically ignore the law, fear the peace keepers, and do what ever the hell they want.

And we see the results.

Certainly that is a detriment. We have to hold people accountable under the law.

Certainly that is a detriment. We have to hold people accountable under the law.

What ? We see how that ends up.

" Hands up! Don't Shoot !"

" I can' t breathe ! "