I'm confused and getting kind of nervous

AURex

Help me understand what is going on here.

Auburn coaches seem to be making offers to a whole bunch of 2 and 3 star players, and happily accepting their commitments. This, while there are still a lot of 4 and 5 star players uncommitted.

The number of commits seems to be trailing behind previous years, and the top defensive line players seem to be flocking to other schools. That would not bother me so much, except for accepting all the 2 and 3 star players.

We always seem to say things will improve and Auburn will make a late run, because Auburn will prove on the field that it is going to be a winning program. That's fine.

But there is a limit t the number of players Auburn can sign, and the coaches aren't waiting. They are filling in the commit list with these players that, as far as I know, have never been invited to any big recruiting event like Big Cat or a big game weekend. Guys I've never heard of.

I'm not a recruiting expert. Maybe some insider can explain. What's the story here?

• Replies 201
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Well, at the moment, we are getting our butts handed to us recruiting DL (more specifically, DT). There is a long time until Feb though.

wde

My understanding is that we will sign 8 on the d line so that leaves 6 spots. If this were December instead of June I would be worried, but that's just me though.

If they had been invited to big events and were still low rated, then I'd be worried. Hopefully these guys have skills that others haven't caught wind of yet. But honestly, IDK.

Auburn coaches seem to be making offers to a whole bunch of 2 and 3 star players, and happily accepting their commitments. This, while there are still a lot of 4 and 5 star players uncommitted.