Open Club  ·  57 members

BBQ Boys

Best thing you've smoked?

johnnyAU

As mentioned, I'm still a bit of a noob when it comes to these things.  Among the things I've done, ribs, pork chops, butts, briskets, chuck roasts, chicken wings, pork tenderloin, whole turkey, chicken thighs, chicken breasts, bacon-wrapped, cream cheese stuffed jalapenos, burgers, salmon, etc....but the very best thing has been steaks, and it isn't even close.

Smoke the ribeyes or New York strips for 45 mins to an hour until it's an internal temp of say 105 or so. Then reverse sear them on a grill (I use a cast iron skillet on mine) at 500+F for a minute or two on a side (while marinating with butter) until the internal temp is 125-130. Let it rest for 5-10 minutes.  I may never eat steaks any other way now. 

I might try some grill grates sometime, but other than that, I'm not going to change much.

• Like 2

On 9/19/2020 at 9:51 PM, johnnyAU said:

As mentioned, I'm still a bit of a noob when it comes to these things.  Among the things I've done, ribs, pork chops, butts, briskets, chuck roasts, chicken wings, pork tenderloin, whole turkey, chicken thighs, chicken breasts, bacon-wrapped, cream cheese stuffed jalapenos, burgers, salmon, etc....but the very best thing has been steaks, and it isn't even close.

Smoke the ribeyes or New York strips for 45 mins to an hour until it's an internal temp of say 105 or so. Then reverse sear them on a grill (I use a cast iron skillet on mine) at 500+F for a minute or two on a side (while marinating with butter) until the internal temp is 125-130. Let it rest for 5-10 minutes.  I may never eat steaks any other way now. 

I might try some grill grates sometime, but other than that, I'm not going to change much.

What kind of cooker are you working with?

On 9/19/2020 at 8:51 PM, johnnyAU said: