Dumb...

OKieAuburnDoug

I'm no doctor, but I've read that often what we call a "24-hour stomach bug" is actually a mild case of food poisoning, which apparently is more common than we suspect. Can't remember what I read that in, but the article claimed that real intestinal viruses usually last longer than 24-48 hours. [Obviously, I bow to the superior medical knowldge of any actual MD's on the board, should they have other opinions]

If that is the case, then a "24-hr bug" needn't be that contagious. (...which is not to say that what you had, OKie, wasn't contagious. I'm not questioning your experience and don't think I want it.)

Anyway, the good thing I took out of Brandon being on the sideline was that he should be fully recovered in time for Gamecocks next week. Of course, thanks to today, I feel a little more comfortable about Blake's ability to back him up.

I'm no doctor, but I've read that often what we call a "24-hour stomach bug" is actually a mild case of food poisoning, which apparently is more common than we suspect.

yea...it's common in sports when players need to sit out a game for "unspecified reasons." i'm not saying that he wasn't sick, but most of the time when i see football players or something not play because of food poisoning i just laugh. there is no way that many players can get food poisoning.

I'm no doctor, but I've read that often what we call a "24-hour stomach bug" is actually a mild case of food poisoning, which apparently is more common than we suspect.

yea...it's common in sports when players need to sit out a game for "unspecified reasons." i'm not saying that he wasn't sick, but most of the time when i see football players or something not play because of food poisoning i just laugh. there is no way that many players can get food poisoning.

183677[/snapback]

So you think it was some sort of a ploy?

183677[/snapback]

So you think it was some sort of a ploy?

183687[/snapback]