AU keeping the faith

Tigermike

AU keeping the faith

Thanks to team chaplain, Tigers find their focus

Thursday, December 02, 2004

By PHILLIP MARSHALL

Times Sports Staff pmarsh9485@msn.com

AUBURN - Locked together, arm-in-arm, they sing loudly, forcefully, sometimes off-key. More than 100 men, young and old, black and white, sway back and forth to the words of the song.

I'm a hard fighting soldier on the battlefield,

I'm a hard fighting soldier on the battlefield

I keep on bringin' souls to Jesus

By the service that I give

I've got a helmet on my head, in my hand a sword and shield

You gotta walk right, talk right, sing right, pray right, on the battlefield.

In that song, Auburn team chaplain Chette Williams says, is the story of Auburn football, 2004.

He takes a medallion from his desk that shows a Roman soldier on one side and a scripture on the other.

He points out the clip on the soldier's side.

"Whenever they were in hostile territory and they saw the enemy coming, they would all hook together," Williams says. "A soldier had to be certain of the person beside him, that he was going to fight.

Even if that person got hurt or wounded, the guy hooked up to him had to carry him through."

Clinching moment

On the night before Auburn clinched the Southeastern Conference West Division championship at Ole Miss, Williams talked to players about "hooking together." That has become a rallying cry for Auburn's football team. And a song came to define a football team.

Defensive end Kyle Derozan, who sang the song "Hard Fighting Soldiers" in his church, introduced it to his teammates at a Fellowship of Christian Athletes meeting. Early in the season, they began to sing it at their Friday night meetings before games. After they beat Ole Miss, they sang it in the locker room.

The public got to see it when locker room footage was shown on coach Tommy Tuberville's weekly television show.