My Views on US Immigration

Over the years I have been directly involved with US immigration. I sponsored my wife for a green card over 30 years ago. She has been a US citizen for over 20 years and come August we will have been married for 30 years. In addition I sponsored and filled out all the immigration forms for her Brother, Sister and her family. They all had to go through government checks and wait almost 10 years to come to the US. All have become US citizens. In addition we have a family friend who came here as an illegal when very young he married a US citizen, is a certified Electrician has two kids and is a home owner. Some how he got a legitimate social security card when he was 16 and has never been a drain on the US economy. About 5 years ago he was apprehended by Immigration and was forced to leave US and return to Mexico. I filled out all the forms to allow him to become legal and I sponsored him so he could return to his family.

I am not a lawyer but because I am fairly literate and speak Spanish over the years I have helped multiple people fill out immigration forms and citizenship forms some who were legal some who were not. We are a country of immigrants and I believe in legal immigration. I help people who are here illegally to become legal as I believe in keeping families together. I am selective in who I help. As I said I believe in Legal immigration but while I understand why people come here illegally I don’t approve of it. Below are my views on Immigration in this country and what I think we should do about it. Please feel free to agree with me, disagree with me or come up with other ideas on how to resolve our immigration issues.