The issue at hand

WaDE'05

I'm not trying to beat a dead horse or anything, but it just occurred to me that this whole deal may have a little less to do with football and athletics and more to do with some bigger issues concerning how most Universities this day and age operate. In another thread on this board I saw a quote form an articl that said....

Petee felt pressure to help undergraduate students remain on pace to graduate, Corzine said.

For some reason, this gave me a pretty good guess as to what has happened in all this, and who is really responsible. I don't really want to put words into anyone's mouth or thoughts into anyone's head, but in my experience here at AU over the last few years I've run into a lot of this type stuff with instructors and departments and deans and colleges and so forth, so I feel like a have a little better perspective on it than I would really ever want to have.

As a student I think this pressure that Dr. Petee is said to have felt to graduate students on time is a very, very relevant issue/concern. Since the University switched to a semester system, graduating on time has been tougher. I think the majority of students at the university fall behind by atleast one semester during there time at AU, whether it be due to illness, injury, finacial problems, family issues, personal problems, lack of maturity/motivation, etc., etc. The problem is that when students fall behind in the semester system they tend to fall further behind and catching up is a lot more difficult, becuase classes aren't offered as regularly and taking 12 hrs every other quarter in order to "catch up" is a lot more tolerable than taking 18 hours every semester. The problem is compounded when a student has a good chance of getting a job after four years of college but is still 18 hrs behind or when money is tight around the household (esp. for out of state students) and a student has to stay around for another semester or two as a result. I think this is the rea