UGA's Dixson's stint on offense ends early

DKW 86

http://www.ajc.com/wednesday/content/epape...ff413a0081.html

GEORGIA REPORT

Chip Towers - Staff

Wednesday, August 9, 2006

Dixson's stint on offense ends early

Athens --- The Dale Dixson-to-offense experiment lasted only one day.

Dixson, a fifth-year senior from Garland, Texas, who was moved to the offensive line Monday, was granted his request to move back to defensive line a day later.

"That experiment didn't go very well," coach Mark Richt said with a laugh. "It was a lot to ask a senior to do, and there is so much to learn on offense. We wanted to honor what Dale wanted to do."

Said Dixson: "Defense is where my heart is. Just being around the guys I've been working with for four or five years felt a lot more comfortable."

After being redshirted in 2002, Dixson was hampered by injuries and didn't get into a game in 2003. He played in 16 of Georgia's 25 games the past two seasons, registering seven tackles. He entered camp at No. 2 defensive tackle behind Ray Gant.

Dixson's move to offense was initiated when backup split guard Zeb McKinzey aggravated a shoulder injury Sunday. With McKinzey out, freshmen Chris Smith and Kevin Perez were alternating between second-team center and guard. Also, split guard Fernando Velasco on Tuesday began getting work at center.

Redshirt freshman Ian Smith is the No. 2 center but will miss the first two games due to disciplinary suspension and is being held out with an elbow injury.

Knee injury ends Coates' season

Tests Tuesday confirmed that redshirt freshman free safety Antavious Coates suffered a torn ACL in his right knee a day earlier. He's out for the season.

Coates had a torn ACL in his left knee as a high school senior and had to redshirt last season after aggravating that injury.