Opinion/Question: Cloud & AncestryRegistry.com

DKW 86

There is no article to link. This is simply an observation and I am hoping others will add to the general idea. I am no conspiracy theorist. Maybe I should lean that way a little.

And I am particularly waiting to hear Strychnine's ideas on this. Here goes: The link that got me thinking: 
Took an ancestry DNA test? You might be a 'genetic informant' unleashing secrets about your relatives

I work in IT. I have always considered it almost comical the mad rush to THE CLOUD by Users. In my head, you just heard a choir sing a sustained high note. We send our data, our pics, our thoughts and sometimes our way too intimate details to THE CLOUD. Now we are also encouraged to send our DNA to an "Ancestry Registry.com" equivalent. Some of these tests are now dropping in price. Folks please take off the tin foil hats for a second and turn the skepticism down for a minute. I am not saying it is happening. I am saying: "What if..."

Someone 20-30 years ago at the FBI, etc had a daydream/wet-dream about a database of the future.  He/She wanted to be able to combine a hard-wired hardware DB/DStorage that the FBI etc could access and comb thru pics, data, transactional records etc. What would that look like?