Question about Muschamp defense

auburn2oregon

Ive been reading that Muschamp basically uses multiple fronts on defense. I also saw that he used the Nickel formation something like 70%-75% of the time the last two seasons at Florida.

My question is this, what exactly is the difference between the Nickel and the 4-2-5 scheme that we had been running? I played ball up until I graduated high school, and even though I went to a 1A school, I know the Nickel defensive formation has 4 DL, 2 LBs, and 5 DB. So... what gives?

Why is E. Johnsons scheme thought of in such a negative light, while Muschamp basically runs the same formation. I mean, I know the differences between the two men, aggressiveness and being able to motivate, being a couple big ones, but thats not what I'm asking. Im asking about the differences between the 4-2-5 and Nickel schemes.

There HAS to be more of a difference between the two than the 5th DB spot being a CB and a S

Thanks in advance for your responses! WDE from Eugene Oregon!

Bird, calling BigBird....come in BigBird.....

;D

If you want to know about feathering your nest or stuffing a pillow...then Bird is your man. But defense? ;D:P

The difference in Muschamp's D versus Ellis D is the focal player. Ellis Johnson focal player was the $tar. The star was a DB/LB hybrid that should have great cover skills and can provide a pass rush when blitzing. He would be the do everything type of guy. Muschamp has the Buck. He is a DE/LB hybrid which gives the defense the ability to change the D-line front to odd or even before the snap. This creates a huge advantage because offensive blocking schemes are blocked differently if the front is odd (3-4) versus even (4-3).