Email From an UpDyke Friend After the IB

Elephant Tipper

Let me preface this by saying that this email is from one of my best friends since, well.........forever. His family and mine have been good friends for almost 100 years, literally. My family is all AU and his is all UA. He's an orthodontist by profession so you'd think he'd have better things to concern him, but apparently not. So here is the email exchange (one that other AU fans might encounter):

Email sent me:

Email title: Auburn's "catch" in 3rd qtr.

Football has some little known rules. Last week, Western Carolina running back fumbled, and as the ball is tumbling up field, a ref blows his whistle inadvertently. Alabama recovered, but the rule states that in the event of an inadvertent whistle the offense gets a choice of taking the play to that point, or redoing the play. Western Carolina was allowed to redo the plan, as the rule states, but that is a crazy rule that doesn’t address a whistle blown while no one has possession of the ball. Logic (to me) says Alabama should have had the ball but not be able to advance it.

Now, that controversial play that was reviewed for it seemed like 15 minutes in the 3rd quarter of the Iron Bowl.

NCAA Rule Book, Part 2, under "interpretations’’. Under the Completed Pass, Article 6, rule 7-3-6, section 2: Two opposing players receive a legal forward pass while both are off the ground, and one player returns to the ground inbounds before the other. Ruling: No simultaneous catch. The legal forward pass is completed or intercepted by the player who first returned to the ground:

https://vine.co/v/OnjUpvjT52l

Looks like the refs blew this one.

My response: