Construction project going way too far...

WarDlowe

link

I'm sorry, but this is ridiculous. They are going to tear up that awesome looking brick and placing plain white concrete on that centerpiece of Auburn. We need to raise as much hell as possible about this... I'm all for improving campus but this is ridiculous.

Guest Tigrinum Major

Unless I am mistaken, this is not the Haley Concourse. The area they are talking about is the area next to the EE building.

I do agree that we get too gung-ho with concrete and steel posts. The brick pavers won't last forever, but they could be replaced periodically. At least the new concrete they are using is scored and not just plain.

I hope you're right. I would just hate to see the Haley concourse torn up. That to me is just a piece of Auburn that shouldn't be changed. I'm a huge Auburn traditionalist though, even though I am a student here and kind of young, I was just raised on Auburn the way I've always known it and I hate to see it change in ways that take away pieces of this place that make it the way it has always been.

The Haley concourse is almost gone now. Looks like this project will tag onto that one. What they are doing there is really nice in the end, but it's a lot different than what used to be there.

Just FYI wait until you see this weekend all the new areas which have been blocked off to keep people from parking on grass, etc. I.e. corner of Samford and Donahue where the big 4X4 guys always park...not anymore.

I hope you're right.  I would just hate to see the Haley concourse torn up.  That to me is just a piece of Auburn that shouldn't be changed.  I'm a huge Auburn traditionalist though, even though I am a student here and kind of young, I was just raised on Auburn the way I've always known it and I hate to see it change in ways that take away pieces of this place that make it the way it has always been.

193117[/snapback]