Fair Tax

CircleDrill

Anybody know anything about the FairTax? I am looking for your thoughts on the pros and cons of it.

The fair tax is basically the abolition of the IRS and all state taxes in favor of a 23% retail tax that can be implemented in many ways, which is one of the points of debate. There are many points of debate, and that is what I would like to hear from you guys.

Anybody know anything about the FairTax? I am looking for your thoughts on the pros and cons of it.

The fair tax is basically the abolition of the IRS and all state taxes in favor of a 23% retail tax that can be implemented in many ways, which is one of the points of debate. There are many points of debate, and that is what I would like to hear from you guys.

Lots and lots and lots of bean counters would be out of work, chiefly because the arcane tax code would be obsolete.

Personally, I'm all for eliminating the yearly ordeal of filing taxes, plus the punitive tax rates. And, as a business owner, I have to undertake all kinds of gyrations simply to keep my fair share of my income. Simply paying a sales tax would be so much more rational--and fairer.

The only thing I would offer as an exception would be medicine.

Lots and lots and lots of bean counters would be out of work, chiefly because the arcane tax code would be obsolete.

Personally, I'm all for eliminating the yearly ordeal of filing taxes, plus the punitive tax rates. And, as a business owner, I have to undertake all kinds of gyrations simply to keep my fair share of my income. Simply paying a sales tax would be so much more rational--and fairer.

The only thing I would offer as an exception would be medicine.