Why does Auburn get no national respect?

tigerfan1234

I was on another football forum and a guy brought up a scenerio with Ohio State, USC, and Auburn going undefeated. If this were to happen and that is a big if, then he says Auburn would get left out because Ohio State and USC "sell" better. Why the lack of interest and respect for Auburn? Louisville, who has only been a player for six years or so gets all kinds of love from the national media, but Auburn who has been playing good ball for 110 years gets treated like a second class citizen in the college football world. Auburn has great traditions, a great sponsor now in Under Armour, nice colors, huge stadium, many players in the NFL, a good academic reputation, and a large alumni base so why do peope elsewhere not acknowledge our exsistence. There are other schools out there that get second class treatment as well so this post is also for them, but since we are on the Auburn board and I am an Auburn grad, I want to hear your thoughts.

We're not the only ones. It's the love afair with the big 10, pac 10 etc. Don't forget, in '66, Bamar was undefeated, and ND and MSU tied at the end of the season. ND and MSU were made CO-Champions...and Bamar was left THIRD!!!

It's the South in general that they don't like. And they know that the best football is plauyed here...and they don't like it. "How can we be soooo smart, and still lose to those rednecks....?" :)

:au::homer: