Nick Saban

WAR-GIGEM-EAGLE

Alabama's latest loss has coach Nick Saban searching for ways to motivate his team. Citing the 9-11 terrorist attacks and Pearl Harbor, Alabama coach Nick Saban said Monday his team must rebound like America did from a "catastrophic event." In this case, that would be an embarrassing 21-14 loss Saturday to Louisiana-Monroe.

"Changes in history usually occur after some kind of catastrophic event," Saban said during the opening remarks of his weekly news conference. "It may be 9-11, which sort of changed the spirit of America relative to catastrophic events. Pearl Harbor kind of got us ready for World War II, or whatever, and that was a catastrophic event."

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2007/foot...s.ap/index.html

to put a football game on that level. disrespectful to the victims and families of 9/11, and as a veteran myself i'm not too thrilled to hear a ball coach compare his players to my comrades who paid the ultimate price, much less the greatest veterans IMO to ever walk the earth (WWII)

does the guy think before he says things to the media?

I'm not sure where this came from but it was forwarded to me in an email. I think it's someone's blog -

Tuesday, November 20, 2007

Off The Reservation

Over the last 11 months, the in-state media in Alabama has acted as an extension on Alabama coach Nick "I'm not going to be the Alabama coach" Saban's press office. While the national media has given Saban a richly-deserved pummeling for his apparently endless reservoir of obnoxious attitude, empty aphorisms and utter lack of character, the in-state press and delusional Alabama fan base (please forgive the redundancy) motored along spouting happy talk about the "Great Saban," and seldom was heard a discouraging word.

Until today. Here's Kevin Scarbinsky, the feature sports columnist of the Birmingham News: