3.11.24 Football Articles

good grief! how long is spring break? Almost nothing to report.

1 hour ago, aubiefifty said:

good grief! how long is spring break? Almost nothing to report.

When I was a student it wasn't long enough!

• Haha 1

si.com

Former Auburn Coach Says Freeze Has Not Reached Out Since Landing NFL Job

Auburn Daily Staff

~2 minutes

The former Auburn coach shared in an interview that he has not heard from Hugh Freeze.

The Auburn football staff went through a lot of changes this offseason.

Hugh Freeze needed to replace both coordinators. He brought on Derrick Nix to lead the offense and DJ Durkin to take over the defense. They also had to replace Zac Ethridge, who took a job at Houston, and former Auburn Interim Head Coach and running backs coach Carnell Williams, who stepped down from his position.

Williams is now with the Las Vegas Raiders and working for Antonio Pierce. In a phone conversation with Roy S. Johnson of AL.com, Williams was asked if he had heard from Freeze since joining the Raiders.

“No, I haven’t,” Williams responded.

“I am rooting for Coach Freeze, the program, along with those players,” Williams told AL.com.

Williams was, and is, a fan favorite among the Auburn fanbase. When Bryan Harsin was fired, there was a celebration for Williams when he became the interim head coach. Auburn fans showed up in full force to support him and the football program when he led Auburn to a win in Jordan Hare Stadium against Texas A&M. 

Williams is now focused on helping the Raiders win games and based on his conversation with AL.com, he seems to like it. 

“They just go over and beyond to extend kindness and support," Williams told AL.com. "That’s super big, especially for me being a country boy from Alabama way out here in Las Vegas. Everybody is working together. It truly appears like a family atmosphere.”

The Auburn football team returns to practice this week after taking last week off due to spring break.

si.com