Scarbinsky on Borges

DKW 86

http://www.al.com/sports/birminghamnews/ks...7060.xml&coll=2

Borges would like shot as head coach

Sunday, July 23, 2006

Al Borges wants to be a head coach.

"Sure," he said the other day. "I'm 50. I've been coordinating an offense for 20 years. What's the next step?

"You can go to the NFL or become a head coach. Or you can keep doing what you're doing. Which is OK. They can bury me. I'll be fine. I love my job. I'm not saying that.

"But yeah, heck, you sit in the driver's seat for 20 years, you'd like to drive the car a little bit just to see what it's like."

No shock there. Here's the surprise: He hasn't gotten a call about a head coaching job. Not one. Not since he got to Auburn.

Not after the Tigers went 13-0 in 2004 and sent their backfield into the first round of the NFL draft. Or after they finished a 9-3 season in 2005 with the SEC's leading rusher and four career 1,000-yard receivers.

His phone here has rung, but with inquiries about coordinating the offense for other college teams. His response? "I'm just not interested."

Unlike Gene Chizik, Borges doesn't believe he has to leave Auburn to get a shot as a head coach. He left UCLA for Cal for that reason. He doesn't plan to repeat that mistake.

"I like it here," he said. "I really do. Some people may say that as a political statement. I'm very sincere when I say it. I mean it with all my heart. It may change in a year. This is a volatile job. Right now, I ain't going nowhere."

Hiring Borges has been Tommy Tuberville's best personnel decision since proposing to Suzanne Fette. The Auburn program has soared since Jetgate, and the offensive coordinator has been the biggest reason.

Check the stats and the scoreboard. Talk to the man. The next Charlie Weis is right here.

Borges discounts the lack of offers so far. After the 2004 season, he said, "My name really wasn't much. I'd been in the doldrums for a couple years."

Last year, openings were scarce.