Interesting words from David Housel

Lynx34

I know a lot of people have some strong opinions regarding the man, but he is as much a part of Auburn as anyone.  Anyway, with that said, I'm a student here and I'm in an honors book club led by Mr. Housel.  At the end of today's meeting, we were all just talking a little about Auburn and whatnot and he made an interesting comment that I thought I would share with y'all.  He said "Auburn's biggest problem is it's biggest asset; Auburn's biggest problem is that its people love it too much."  His point was that Auburn is special to any single individual because of their experience there as a student or as a fan or whatever, but what makes it special to anyone is usually made long ago.  An alumni graduating in 1955 believes Auburn is special because of what it was in 1955.  He said, generally speaking, people love it so much that they don't want it to change and that hinders its growth in the long term.

I'm just a junior here, so I don't know how true that is for some of the older alumni and fans, but I'm curious what everyone else thinks about that.

I think there is a lot of truth in that statement. I also think the same thing could be said about other places. Places that tend to be more traditional, benefit/suffer from it more than others, imo.

Yeah, I do think there's a lot of truth in it, but there's no way to definitively say one way or the other about it.

As for Housel, I've had the same opinion of him for a long time; he's smug, borderline arrogant even, but he's definitely a good old boy. He is probably the greatest Auburn historian alive, and he is every bit as much an Auburn man as anyone. And those of you who know me know that I don't say such things lightly.