If you like military history

I know I could've posted on a different thread but this is a pretty popular place and most of you know me from here and military and politics are intertwined so I said 'what the heck.'

Some of you know that I majored in history and every chance I get I try to study our nation's military history and on a personal level do my best to interact with it. I posted MONTHS ago on the football forum looking for info on my late relative Dean Hallmark who played football at Auburn in the mid 1930s. I already know a great deal about him and at the time was hoping someone had access to a Glomerata from either 1936 or 37 and could find his photo for me. At any rate, Dean was born and raised in the great state of Texas and grew up in Greenville. After graduating from high school he played football at Paris (TX) Junior College before transferring to Auburn on a football scholarship in 1936. "His freshman photo in the 1936 Glomerata shows a handsome, serious-looking young man. He was an outstanding lineman on the 1936 freshman football team, which beat Georgia Tech and Birmingham-Southern in the only two games they played. His name is referenced in that same Glomerata as an outstanding plebe on the team. But Hallmark's ambition was not focused on being a football star at Auburn. He intended to become a pilot, and with war threatening in Europe, he dropped out of Auburn in 1937 and later joined the Army Air Corps."*