Malzahn in the mix at ULM?

AUTiger10

Saw this in rumor central on espn's site. http://insider.espn.go.com/ncf/features/rumors?&action=upsell&appRedirect=http%3a%2f%2finsider.espn.go.com%2fncf%2ffeatures%2frumors I know this is exactly what it says it is, a rumor, so take it for what it's worth. Unfortunately, I can't read the article because I'm not an "insider". Does anyone know any details? Interested in your thoughts as to whether or not you think Malzahn would leave for a head coaching job such as ULM? I personally hope we do whatever it takes to keep him around, especially with the talent we are bringing in on offense. Combine that with the receivers we developed this year, and we should have enough depth at the skill positions to be very successful. Thoughts?

im no expert, but i dont think he leaves for that kind of position. His daughter has transferred to 3 different colleges with him. I'd imagine he sticks around here to get her out of school and then looks for something bigger. ULM only pays their coach what?? 900k??

As I've said in other threads:

I think Gus knows that if he stays a while, builds an SEC/BCS contender with his system, he can pretty much write his own ticket to much bigger jobs than La-Monroe or Memphis. A little patience now will yield much bigger dividends later. (And Chizik's Iowa State experience is a good lesson against jumping at any ol' HC job that comes along.)

No way he leaves for ULM. That would feel like a demotion in my opinion. He stays at least long enough to build an actual contender in the SEC. He won't get the talent to do what he wants at ULM--he'd probably have a stroke trying to coach a game with their "talent" pool.

I'd also hope he accomplishes more @ Auburn than 1 season of keeping our offense from sucking before he moves on. It still remains to be seen if his creative offensive mind & coaching, combined w/ talent & depth, can beat SEC defenses.