DYE-GEST SPRING BALL other tidbits

aubiefifty

Spring Football A Very Important Part of Team Building For Auburn, Others

Pat Dye

5-6 minutes

Coach Pat Dye (Photo: Inside the Auburn Tigers/AUTigers.com, Scout.com)

With Auburn's spring football practice starting on Thursday, in my experience as a high school and college player, plus a college coach for 27 years, I can’t emphasize enough the importance of these sessions. It is my experience that you can tell a lot about your team this time of year.

As a coach I watched the players as carefully as I could to see if they were just trying to do enough to get by during a practice or if they were truly going out there with a purpose. This is also a time of year when you want to see who is going to step into leadership roles.

For this Auburn team one of the major points of emphasis is getting a good feel for who is going to step into the starting roles on the offensive line with four seniors to replace. One thing that I think is going to help these offensive linemen improve this spring, and this is big, is that they will be facing a lot of talented players on the defensive front. They will not play against a better defensive line than they will see in practice. The offensive linemen will get a good idea of what it is going to be like playing in games this fall.

For example, we don’t know who the starting center is going to be this season with the guys who played it last year, Austin Golson and Casey Dunn, gone following their senior years. What we do know is if any of those guys can block Derrick Brown and Dontavius Russell, the Tigers will have a good center.

With Russell, Brown, Nick Coe, T.D. Moultry and Andrew Williams returning on the defensive front and from everything I understand the junior college transfer Daquan Newkirk has that same type of talent and work ethic, the entire offensive line will be tested this spring.