Is Slick Nick Overconfident?

Proud Tiger

$aban put a big move on LSU commit Phelon Jones last Tuesday, but he was unable to talk to him into reconsidering his commitment after visiting him at school. Tony Jones, Phelon's father, said "his son would not take an official visit to Alabama and would not host Saban for an in-home visit. mr. Jones further added "Saban's sales pitch is 'Look, I'm a head coach and I also coach the secondary. Where are you going to find that in America? I coach it for a reason, because I'm the best there is at it. I turned the program around at Michigan State,i turned it around at LSU, and I have more to work with at Alabama."

Tony Jones was unmoved saying "we enjoyed talking with him. he's a great guy but he's a little bit overconfident."

---------Huntsville Times 1/20/07

Thank you Mr. Jones for providing first hand evidence what most of us already knew.

How is that evidence?

Luther Davis (current LSU verbal) is in Tuscaloosa this weekend. Joe McKnight is coming next weekend. Saban must be doing something right.

How is that evidence?

Luther Davis (current LSU verbal) is in Tuscaloosa this weekend. Joe McKnight is coming next weekend. Saban must be doing something right.

It's evidence because that's exactly what he said.

Its not evidence that he's 'overconfident'.

Overconfidence indicates the inability to acheive a certain goal. Saban says he's gonna do great things at Alabama...while it remains to be seen...you cant say he's OVERconfident...at least not yet.

How is that evidence?

I doubt you would understand evidence since you have a problem with facts. Maybe you should write Mr. Jones a letter and ask him?

Its not evidence that he's 'overconfident'. Overconfidence indicates the inability to acheive a certain goal.--

Exactly and Saban failed to achieve his goal of even getting Jones to visit let alone change his commitment.