Auburn has a chance to repeat history

RunInRed

by Tony Barnhart

I am often asked to list the best rivalries in college football. My list is probably about the same as yours: Georgia-Florida, Texas-Oklahoma, Ohio State-Michigan, Alabama-Tennessee, Miami-Florida State.

I always leave out Alabama-Auburn and so the question is inevitably asked about the omission. Why do I not list Alabama-Auburn? Because, in my experience, Alabama-Auburn (or Auburn-Alabama) is much, much more than a mere football rivalry. It is a cultural war and the participants just use football to fight it.

If I ever had any doubt about this, those doubts were erased on Dec. 2, 1989, when I attended the most emotional football game of my career.

It’s hard to believe it’s been 20 years since Alabama went to Auburn for the first time ever.

Read more ...

Roll call ... who was there in 1989?

I was there.... it was my last Home game as a student.... and I graduated soon afterward ..... The Pep rally , Parade, and what happened that night at Toomers.... I WILL NEVER EVER EVER EVER Forget.... and the sign hanging from the old gymnastics building before it burned..... "Ray Perkins said that it would never happen" It DID and WE WON!!!!!!!!! Lets Do It AGAIN..... Bama came in 10-0 that day.... and went home a crying 10-1......Lets do it again.... WAR DAMN EAGLE!!!!

It would be great, but that Auburn team was also 8-2 that year (finished 10-2). Much different than 7-4, a depleted roster, and a new coaching staff.

My very first game in JHS! 17 year old Senior in High School.

Very well worth it! It opened a new chapter in my life. It solidified my break from home grown roots and planted me firmly in the soil of the Auburn Family.

It would be great, but that Auburn team was also 8-2 that year (finished 10-2). Much different than 7-4, a depleted roster, and a new coaching staff.

And the wheels on the bus go round and round. :rolleyes: